Quarter Trip Around the World

This is another quilt my lovely mother pieced and gave to me to quilt.  It’s fun when she gives me quilts with no instruction as to how she’d like them done.

Top

Top

The piecing on one was pretty simple, but cute.  I debated what to do with it.  I loved the cute 30s feedsack prints she chose and didn’t want to overpower them with stitching.  I have also been working on my stitching in the ditch, so I thought this quilt was maybe the right one to try it on.

Top Detail

Top Detail

I stitched in the ditch around all the blocks and even extended it into the border.

Top Detail

Top Detail

After the stitching in the ditch I did an “X” through each of the blocks.

Top Detail

Top Detail

After the “X” came the orange peel. I LOVED quilting the orange peel design. It’s easier and faster than it looks. Keep an eye out for me to add it to the available designs soon, because it was so much fun!

Top Detail

Top Detail

After I did some orange peeling I decided to go back and add in a little extra peeling in the neutral squares. Every other square has an orange peeled “X” in the center. You can really see it in the photo I took above with the light coming from the sides.

Top Detail

Top Detail

I really had a lot of fun with the orange peels.

Back

I love the way my mom puts blocks on the backs of quilts. I think it’s something that’s happening more now that the modern quilting phenomenon has taken place. Backs of quilts are just as fun a lot of times as the front.

I had fun quilting this one up. I think my choice of quilting pairs pretty well with this design and hope it’s owner does, too.

Leave a Reply

