Traffic Bubbles

My friend, Becky just had her second baby, Xavier.  I made this little quilt to give to them when I got to go and meet the little man last weekend.

Top

I found this adorable vehicles fabric for really cheap when my local Hancock closed.

Top - Detail 1

I did the circle applique where you put 2 layers of fabric facing together and stitch around the edge, cut a slit in the back and flip.  Super quick and easy!  Super adorable!

Sketch - 1

This was the sketch I did to come up with the quilting on this one.  I ended up scrapping a few things on the sketch, but I’m still happy with the results.

Top - Detail 2

I wanted the strips of quilting with the ribbon quilting in it to resemble train tracks.

Top - Detail 10

I wanted the quilt to have a lot of texture to make up for the minimal applique.

Top - Detail 3

Aren’t the pebbles fun?

Top - Detail 5

I like the way the pebbles and the “train tracks” fit together.

Top - Detail 6

I think it flows with the applique, too.

Top - Detail 7

I really like the way it came out.

Top - Detail 8

I wish I would have used a different batting though.  This is the Quilter’s Dream Green batting.  It’s a very nice batting.  It drapes very nicely.  It’s so soft.  It has a nice weight.  I just kind of prefer a bit of a crinkle to my quilts and I feel like this one is missing it.

Top - Detail 9

Don’t you think it is missing a bit of a poof?

Back - Whole

I used the same fabric in the applique bubbles on the front and for the majority of the backing.  Isn’t it cute?

Back - Detail 1

I like the airplanes the best I think.

Back - Detail 2

I do think the boats are adorable, too, though.

Label 1

Once again I didn’t do a “proper” label.  This one reads: Xavier Thomas Fields     10-25-13

Label 2

❤ Jessica Toye

Details:

Size: 36″x42″

Pattern: Designed by me.

Fabric: Grey is a solid Kona (I think).  Print is a bargain from when my Hancock closed and I think it’s a M’Liss print.  Binding is a beautiful red that is printed to look like a woven from JoAnn’s.

Thread for quilting: The Bottom Line (60 wt.) in Gray.

Happy quilting!

-Jessica

Leave a Reply

