WIP – A work in progress!

I’m a lucky girl to be a member of the Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild.  The KCMQG is made up of a whole bunch of super talented and very kind ladies and a few gentlemen.  These awesome people work together to make quilts for kids as part of Birthday Blessings.  I can’t remember all of the details, but there are certain block design and color requirements if you want to donate blocks to the charity project.  But as I understand it, the quilts that are made are donated to this charity in KC that gives a quilt to a child turning one who wouldn’t otherwise receive any birthday presents.

I volunteered to quilt a few of these quilts to help with the project and to get a little extra practice with the long-arm.  The project organizer, Monica, gave me 4 quilt tops to work on, so I’ve got several things waiting for me to jump on.

When I bring home a quilt that belongs to someone else I start by filling out a sheet with all the really important information that could be easy to forget.  On my project sheet, I write down the owner’s name, size of the top, thread choices, any design specifications, etc.  It’s so easy to forget those things when you have several projects going at the same time, so it’s important for me to take the time to document anything unique about each project.

After I have all the basic details are recorded, I like to do a quick little sketch of the quilt top & then draw on what I’m thinking for the quilting design.

Sketches for some quilting.

Then it’s time for the quilting.

I kind of love the texture quilted paisleys gives.

A little quilting today...

That’s my favorite part.  🙂

I finished this quilt last night, but we are all sick in my house.  Again.  So, this quilt hasn’t been photographed just yet.  Maybe tomorrow, but more likely this week.  Keep an eye out to see the whole thing.  It turned out pretty fun.

Also, coming soon is a post about a quilt I did a couple of months ago for Lesley.  It’s a beautiful paper-pieced quilt made using the Local quilt pattern by Carolyn Friedlander.  It’s fabulous & very vibrant and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Until next time, happy quilting!

-Jessica

One thought on “WIP – A work in progress!

  1. Pingback: Orange + Blue Underwater Log Cabin Baby Quilt | Jess Toye Quilts

Leave a Reply

