Lesley’s Churn Dash

I love quilting for Lesley. Lesley is a fabulous quilter and she has such a good eye for color and fabric placement, so that makes it really fun to look at her quilts when I’m working on them.

Top 01

This quilt was really large! I didn’t have a big enough spot in my house to take a photo of the whole thing, so this is as close as I got to an overall photo.

Top 04

I quilted my new favorite overall design in the negative space. Paisleys! I love paisleys. Once things slow down a little bit for me and I get a chance to make more samples to add to my services page this will for sure be one of the new ones listed.

Top 03

I really, really, really, really, really love the texture that came from the quilting on this quilt.

Top 02

Don’t you just love that texture? I think it’s a little feminine without being overly girlie.

Block 07

The colored churn dash blocks were all quilted like this.

Block 01

I wanted the churn dashes to puff out a bit compared to the negative space.

Block 02

I love this chevron fabric! Lesley uses chevrons way differently than anyone else I’ve noticed. Check out her chevron dresden plate. I’m seriously in love.

Block 03

Do you see the slight difference in puffiness between quilting patterns? It came out just the way I was hoping it would!

Block 04

I LOVE this fabric. It’s the perfect shade of plum.

Block 05

I really love the orange-peel/flower petal quilting technique. It’s fun to do to create something to accentuate the piecing.

Block 08

You can see the quilting on the purple pretty well here. Don’t you think it suits the piecing?

Block 10

Some of the blocks were the inverse color placement with the white as the positive space and printed fabric as the negative space. How could I not take advantage of that?! I did an alternate quilting on those blocks and I love the way it turned out.

Block 09

And bonus: I only forgot to flip my quilting design on one of the blocks and caught it halfway through!  😉

Back 01

I have to admit… I kind of love the way the quilting turned out on the backside, too.

Back 02

I love how it becomes a design of it’s own.

Details:

Pieced by Lesley

Approximate size: 106″ x 106-1/2″

Thread: 50 wt. in Snow White

If you’d like to see what Lesley said about this quilt, visit her post here.

I really love the way this quilt turned out for Lesley.  It’s bright & cheerful and I’m so happy with the way it turned out.

4 thoughts on “Lesley’s Churn Dash

Leave a Reply

