Ann’s Modern Patchwork Giraffe Quilt

I love the modern quilts. I love how they appear sleek and simple, but are still soft and quilty.

Top 01

This quilt was made by my new friend, Ann.  Ann & I didn’t know each other until the first time we met to exchange this quilt, but we now see each other at guild meetings & are constantly running into each other at the fabric store or other quilty places.  Aren’t quilt friends awesome?

Anyway, Ann made this quilt for to her future grand-baby who has yet to be adopted.  Lots of details about the baby are still unknown, like the gender, so the nursery theme decided upon was giraffes.

Top 03

When I met with Ann she had specific types of quilting she wanted in each area.  I think she nailed it with her choices.  I especially love how the patchwork strips turned out.  The quilting is kind of an echoed square chain.

Top 04

How cute are the animals?  Love it!

Top 02

In the main negative spaces we did a quilting texture to mirror the fabric.  It’s just a wavy line back and forth.  It added such a nice texture and Ann told me that it puffed up so nicely after being washed.

Back 01

The back had a strip of the patchwork, too.  I love fun backs, don’t you?  I like to think they are kind of a secret.

Details:

Approximate Size: 36″x 48″

Thread matched the white.  

Batting was Quilter’s Dream Cotton

I love how this little quilt went together & Ann told me her daughter-in-law is in love with it.  I hope the new baby-to-be gets loads of use out of it and has fun looking at the animals his grandma put into it for him.

Have a fantastic Easter weekend!

-Jessica

One thought on “Ann’s Modern Patchwork Giraffe Quilt

Leave a Reply

