A free pattern! Thirty-two carats

I’m taking part in the Handmade Birthday Club with some of my fellow Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild members.  I made a really cool set of placemats for my friend, Denise.

Four on Table

Since I put in the effort to make myself a paper-piecing pattern to create these, I might as well share it with the rest of you, right?!

Four Placemats - Flat

You’re in luck.

Feathers Flat Eyeballs Flat Circles Flat Sprig Flat

I’ve made this (sort-of) pattern available for free on Craftsy.  That’s right.  It’s free!  You can find the pattern here.

Why do I say sort-of?  Well, if you haven’t done paper-piecing before this might not be the most easy to follow.  Here’s what you will find in this pattern:

  • Some really basic instructions, but if you’re new to this technique I’d recommend looking up a YouTube video or really in-depth tutorial.  I’m sure there’s hundreds of them available out on the web & paper-piecing can be a little tricky to wrap your head around if you haven’t tried it before.
  • A pretty basic formula to use to figure up how much yardage you’ll need for your project.
  • A photograph of the placemats I made & a few digital renderings of what a quilt could look like in various sizes.
  • A page of project ideas with dimensions and grid layouts for different standard sized projects.
  • There’s the paper-piecing pieces and printing instructions.

Hope you try it out and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

